REALTOR® Celebration, the Houston Association of Realtors’ (HAR) biggest event of the year, took place on December 7 at the River Oaks Country Club, and featured the much-anticipated swearing in of the 2017 HAR board of directors and incoming chair, Cindy Hamann, of Heritage Texas Properties.

Texas Senator John Whitmire administered the oath of office for the new board members while Robin Mueck, Broker/Owner, Chairman and CEO of Heritage Texas Properties, swore in Hamann. Houston Mayor Pro Tem Ellen Cohen presented a City of Houston proclamation to Hamann, announcing that December 7 had been named “Cindy Hamann Day.”

Along with Hamann, the 2017 HAR Executive Committee is comprised of Chair-elect Kenya Burrell, Vice Chairs Shannon Cobb Evans and John Nugent, Secretary/Treasurer Richard Miranda and Immediate Past Chairman Mario Arriaga. Serving as members of HAR’s 2017 governing body are David Atkins, Dianna Ayers, Christi Borden, Michael Clapp, Linda Cottar, Wanda Devereaux, Jennifer Duguay, Mike Mahlstedt, Richard Miranda, Ronnie Miranda, Dovie Morgan, Thomas Mouton, Veronica Mullenix, John Nichols, Ignacio Osorio, Shannon Register, Deborah Spangler and Jennifer Wauhob.

REALTOR® Celebration also honored two outstanding real estate professionals for their exceptional dedication and community stewardship. Ward Arendt, with Arendt Realty, was honored as 2016 Realtor of the Year, and Bill Baldwin, broker-owner of Boulevard Realty, received the 2016 John E. Wolf Community Service Award.

HAR President and CEO Bob Hale saluted outgoing HAR Chairman Mario Arriaga for his tireless commitment to the Association and the real estate industry throughout 2016. He narrated a retrospective about his year of service featuring slides from events he attended around the country on behalf of HAR.

Guests were also treated to a video about Hamann’s personal and professional journey, culminating with her career as a Realtor and, beginning January 1, chair of the 36,000-member HAR.


rc_2017_1 rc_2017_2