November 8, 2022 was Midterm Election Day around the United States. Here in Texas, there was a gubernatorial race at the top of the ballot along with many other races. Statewide turnout was about 46%, lower than expected, but the second highest turnout percentage for a mid-term since 1994. 

It was once again a successful election for HAR and TR Recommended Candidates. At the top of the ballot, Governor Greg Abbott, Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick and Attorney General Ken Paxton all secured re-election with 53% or more of the vote. In Congress, all recommended candidates were successful in their election including Morgan Luttrell and Wesley Hunt, who will both head to Washington D.C. for their first term. The same goes for the State House and State Senate as all recommended candidates won their elections including newcomers, Suleman Lalani in House District 76, Stan Kitzman in House District 85 and Mano DeAyala in House District 133.

In Harris County, HAR Recommended Candidates Judge Lina Hidalgo and Commissioner Adrian Garcia were re-elected, while HAR Recommended Candidate Jack Cagle was narrowly defeated by Lesley Briones. In Fort Bend County, Judge KP George and Commissioner Grady Prestage were able to hold off their challengers while HAR Recommended Candidate Dexter McCoy defeated Ray Aguilar for the Precinct 4 seat on Commissioners Court. In The Woodlands Township, HAR Recommended Candidates Brad Bailey, Linda Nelson and Kyle Watson were all elected to their first term on the Board while Incumbent John Anthony Brown was defeated by challenger Richard Franks. Missouri City Mayor and HAR Recommended Candidate Robin Elackatt defeated former Mayor Yolanda Ford in what was a re-match of the 2020 election. Councilmember Lynn Clouser easily won re-election with nearly 80% of the vote but Councilmember Vashaundra Edwards was defeated by Sonya Brown-Marshall. 

HAR would like to thank all of the members of our Political Affairs Advisory Group (PAAG) and Political Affairs Advisory Leadership (PAAL) committees for all of the hard work and dedication they put into this election cycle. As a reminder, committee applications for 2023 are currently open for all HAR members.