Congratulations to HAR’s recommended candidates in the March 2 Primary Election. Ten out of 13 HAR recommended candidates won their Primary Election, with one race, State Representative, District 146 resulting in a court challenge. Former State Representative Borris Miles received eight more votes than the current State Representative, fellow REALTOR® and HAR recommended candidate Al Edwards.

State Representative Dora Olivo did not win her re-election bid. She represented Arcola, Fairchilds, Fresno, the Village of Pleak, Richmond, Rosenberg, Thompsons and parts of Houston, Missouri City and Stafford since 1997. Rep. Olivo was a true friend to Texas REALTORS® helping to pass legislation to permanently exempt a personally owned vehicle used for both personal and business purposes from ad valorem taxation, saving Texas REALTORS® roughly $51 million in taxes. She also helped defeat measures that would place a tax on professional services and commissions. HAR truly appreciated the support Rep. Olivo provided to the real estate industry. We wish her the best in her future endeavors. HAR looks forward to building a positive relationship with Ron Reynolds, a real estate attorney, who is unopposed in the November 2 Election.

More than twice as many people voted in the Primary Election in Harris County than in the 2006 Primary Election. According to an unofficial count from the Harris County Clerk’s office, 260,254 votes were cast as compared with 118,436 in 2006.

Candidates who won their Primary Election will be placed on the November 2 General Election Ballot.

March 2 Primary Election Results
To view the March 2 Primary Election results in your county, please visit or visit your county’s election information Web site.

April 13 Runoff Election
HAR’s recommended candidate for the Tuesday, April 13 Primary Runoff Election is Dan Huberty for State Representative, District 127. Early voting will begin on Monday, April 5 through Friday, April 9. Election Day is Tuesday, April 13.

May 8 Local Election
HAR’s Board of Directors has made recommendations in selected races taking place in The Woodlands, Conroe and Missouri City on Saturday, May 8. You may see the complete list of recommended candidates on page 19.

Sugar Land
Because HAR recommended candidates Mayor Thompson and Council Members Abraham and Chaumette are unopposed, there will not be an election in the city of Sugar Land.

The Woodlands
Voters residing in The Woodlands will have an opportunity to elect four Township Director positions: Positions 1, 2, 3 and 4.

Election Day polling location for residents of The Villages of Creekside Park will be located at Creekside Forest Elementary School. The polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. The Woodlands Township staff is working to secure an early voting polling location. Early voting will take place April 26 through May 1, 2010 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and May 3 – 4, 2010 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Updates concerning the election will be available on The Woodlands Township Web site at