On Tuesday, November 8, Houston Mayor Annise Parker, HAR’s recommended candidate, won a second term as mayor of the nation’s fourth-largest city. Twelve of HAR’s recommended candidates for Houston City Council won election outright without having to face a runoff. Those recommended candidates are:

Annise Parker*

Ronald Green*

District C
Ellen Cohen

District D
Wanda Adams*

District E
Mike Sullivan*

District F
Al Hoang*

District G
Oliver Pennington*

District H
Ed Gonzalez*

District I
James Rodriguez*

District J
Mike Laster

District K
Larry Green 

At-Large 1
Stephen Costello*

At-Large 3
Melissa Noriega*

At-Large 4
C.O. “Brad” Bradford*


Two City Council incumbents will have to defend their seats again on December 10 in runoff elections.  In District A, HAR’s recommended candidate and a fellow REALTOR®, Councilwoman Brenda Stardig, faces a runoff against civic club president Helena Brown.  Councilwoman Jolanda Jones, also an HAR recommended candidate, will be challenged by chiropractor Jack Christie for the At-Large Position 5 seat.

 HAR Recommended Candidate,
District A
Brenda Stardig

 HAR Recommended Candidate,
At-Large Position 5
Jolanda “Jo” Jones

Two open City Council seats will also go to runoffs.  In District B, Alvin Byrd, Constituent Services Director to term-limited Councilman Jarvis Johnson, will face nonprofit director and Houston Housing Resource Board member Jerry Davis. In the At-Large, Position 2 race to succeed term-limited Councilwoman Sue Lovell, Pastor Andrew Burks and former State Representative Kristi Thibaut will face off in the runoff. HAR members who comprise the Political Affairs Advisory Group (PAAG) will meet November 17 to recommend candidates in both of these races.  The HAR Board of Directors will then review the PAAG’s recommendations when the Board meets on November 21.

Even if you did not vote in the first election, you can vote in the Saturday, December 10 runoff election.  Runoff elections have been won by only one vote, so every vote is crucial for a victory. To see a list of times and locations for the early voting period of the December 10 runoff elections, click HERE.