Local municipalities and school districts across the State of Texas held elections on Saturday May 1, 2021 and turnout throughout the state was generally very low. For example, we saw turnout in Fort Bend County barely reach 5% and, in some races, it was even less than that. HAR had recommended candidates in both Sugar Land and Pearland and all recommended candidates were re-elected.

Sugar Land Election
In Sugar Land, HAR Recommended Candidate, Carol McCutcheon, was re-elected to her District 4 City Council seat after receiving more than 80% of the vote. HAR Recommended Candidates Naushad Kermally and Stewart Jacobson ran unopposed and therefore will continue to serve The City of Sugar Land in City Council Districts 2 and 3, respectively. In the District 1 election, where HAR did not have a recommended candidate, Planning and Zoning Commissioner Suzanne Whatley defeated Donna Batten Molho by just five votes. It is worth noting that Sugar Land recently changed the term length for the Mayor and City Council from two to three years, meaning the newly elected council member’s term will last until May 2024.

Pearland Election
In Pearland, elections were held for City Council Positions 2 and 4.  HAR Recommended Candidate, Tony Carbone, ran unopposed for Position 2 and was re-elected after receiving more than 3,500 votes. In the race for Position 4, HAR Recommended Candidate, Adrian Hernandez, defeated Jeff Hunkele by more than 2,000 votes.

Missouri City Election
While no candidates were on the ballot in Missouri City, there was an opportunity for citizens to vote on nine charter propositions. All nine passed, and of note was Proposition E, which changes the term length of the Mayor and City Council members from two to three years. If you would like to read more about the other propositions, visit www.missouricitytx.gov/558/ElectionEleccin.