The Houston Association of REALTORS®’s International Advisory Group (IAG) is extremely pleased to announce that the Houston REALTOR® Information Services, Inc. Board has passed the motion and approved an HAR International Property Listing Agreement. Though there has been discussion of an international listing agreement for many years, it was not until last fall when current Chair Nelly Mitford met with Grant Harpold, HAR Legal Counsel, that they made it a goal to finally have a written format for the agreement. It took meetings, edits, additions, redrafts and ultimately submission to the MLS Advisory Group for their input and approval before it could be presented to the HRIS Board for their approval.

The second motion passed is the requirement to submit to MLS a copy of the International Listing or Exclusive Right to Sell Listing Agreement for all global listings input into Area 82.

We would like to thank Grant Harpold for providing wonderful insight into the legal process and requirements as well as great patience in working with IAG members and their recommendations for the successful accomplishment of passing these motions.

Over the past years, many IAG past chairman have been instrumental in their leadership to the International Advisory Group. Wayne Stroman, Ward Arendt, Edna Corona, Richard Miranda, Judith Snively, Bill Gottfried, and Cathy Trevino to name but a few.

Special thanks go to HAR staff employees Lori Carper, Director of International, Aracely Arrazolo, International Coordinator and Shawn Dauphine, Director of MLS and Quality Assurance.

Current Chairperson Nelly Mitford have been a catalyst dedicated to making the International Property Listing Agreement one of her top priorities.  Among the many other initiatives during her tenure and leadership is to encourage the IAG members to work toward obtaining for the first time the NAR Diamond award for 2017.

A formal announcement from IAG will be forth coming in the next few weeks advising when the new agreement will be available for HAR agent use.

Congratulations to the members of the HAR International Advisory Group past and present on this milestone achievement.