HAR and TAR Recommended Candidates Win Runoffs

x_width=250&max_height=1000&q=70″ alt=”HAR and TAR Recommended Candidates Win Runoffs” />

The April 13 runoff election proved to be a positive election for HAR’s recommended candidates, despite low voter turnout. Dan Huberty, HAR’s recommended candidate for State Representative District 127, won by a landslide with 71% of the vote (5,994 votes) over his opponent, Susan Curling (2,479 votes). Huberty’s service as the president of the Humble Independent School District and experience in the real estate industry made him a popular favorite. TAR’s recommended candidate, Debra Lehrmann, for Texas Supreme Court, won with 52% of the statewide vote (172,813 votes), over her opponent, Rick Green (160,572 votes). Former State Representative Rick Green, a Dripping Springs lawyer who has never been a judge, was the favorite of Tea Party activists, according to news sources. Dan Huberty and Judge Lehrmann have Democratic opponents in November.

Social Media Campaign a First for TAR
TAR launched its first social media campaign for Judge Debra Lehrmann, and, from the election results, it was a great success. The HAR Governmental Affairs Team participated in this social media campaign through our Facebook and Twitter pages. The efforts made by Realtor® Associations statewide helped to reach thousands of additional Texas voters on the grassroots level and ensured the most qualified candidate was elected. The success in Judge Lehrmann’s campaign was greatly dependent on the grassroots efforts across the state. Without their voter turnout, the election results would have been much different. Debra Lehrmann won by a slim margin; and in Harris, Fort Bend, and Galveston Counties, she lost. Lehrmann prevailed in most of the counties in the Dallas-Fort Worth area, where she serves as a family law judge. We have no doubt that TAR’s social media campaign was a deciding factor in this race and we would like to give a special thanks to our Facebook and Twitter fans for being politically active and responsible. Less than 1½ percent of Harris County voters cast their ballots in this election.

April 13 Runoff Election Results:

Supreme Court Justice Place 3

  • Rick Green 160,572 48.2%
  • Debra Lehrmann 172,813 51.8%

State House District 127

  • Susan Curling 2,479 29.3%
  • Dan Huberty 5,994 70.7%

Important Election Information

May 8 Local Elections
City of Conroe
Leo Hewett – City Council, Place 5

City of Missouri City
Danny Nguyen – City Council, At-large, Position 2

The Woodlands Township
Claude Hunter – Township Director, Position 1
Tom Campbell – Township Director, Position 2
Jay Mac Sanders – Township Director, Position 3
Ed Robb – Township Director, Position 4

Election Dates:
Early Voting – April 26 – May 4
Election Day – May 8

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

#MFM: Dr. Stephen Klineberg